Board of Commissioners

Port St Mary Commissioners are an elected Board of seven members, each of whom hold office for a period of 4 years after which time elections are held for all members. There was an election on 22nd July 2021 but as there were only 5 nominations the nominees were all elected unopposed.


Bernadette Williams 

Elected Chair in 2021
Also representative for  Southern Sheltered Housing Joint Board and Southern Authorities Health Care Trust Committee  

Home Address: Beachcliffe, Primrose Terrace, Port St Mary, IM9 5AP
Occupation: Retired
About: Port St Mary born and bred, some of you may know her from her many years as Port St Mary’s Standard Bearer – and the UK’s National Standard Bearer – for the Royal British Legion Women’s Section; others may recognise her as the first female Sword Bearer for the Tynwald Sword of State, a position she held for 25 years before retiring in 2021.
Declaration of Interests:To be confirmed


Alan Grace

Elected Vice-Chair in 2021
Commissioner. Representative for Southern Civic Amenity Site Board
Home Address: Cornerstone, Lime Street, Port St Mary, IM9 5ED
About: Alan has served as a Commissioner since 2004 and is very passionate about protecting the beauty of Port St Mary
Occupation: Retired Lecturer
Declaration of Interests: Owner of Cornerstone, Lime Street, Port St Mary, IM9 5ED


Laurence Vaughan-Williams

Home Address: 1 The Cottages, Arragon Mooar, Old Castletown Road, Santon, IM4 1HB (pending renovation of a property in Port St Mary)

About: Elected in October 2017. Served as Chairman from March to May 2018. Hobbies include walking Winston the Basset, angling, 1960 Alvis, flying Tiger Moth aircraft, Port St Mary concert party
Occupation: Advocate and Barrister at Law
Declaration of Interests: To be confirmed


Norman McGregor Edwards

Home Address: 2 Fistard Grove, Port St Mary IM9 5HT
Elected in August 2018
 Occupation: Retired. Committee member and volunteer at the Manx Aviation and Military Museum
Declaration of Interests: Director of “Care in Mann” and volunteer driver. Committee member and volunteer at the Manx Aviation and Military Museum


Rebecca Gelling

Home Address:
1 Carnane View, Ballakilley, Rushen IM9 5NR
Rebecca (Becki) is actively involved in the day to day running of the very popular Pavilion Restaurant in Port St Mary
Occupation: Business woman
Declaration of Interests:
To be confirmed